About you, your 4x4 and access
Font size: +
2 minutes reading time (494 words)

2010 Griffin King of the Hammers starting line-up announced

None of the former Kings are at the front of the pack.  2009 winner Jason Scherer will start 38th, the Original 2007 winner John Reynolds will start in 45th, and 2008’s King Shannon Campbell is towards the back of the pack in the 72nd position.  Regardless of their starting position, they have all proven that they are a force to be reckoned with.  Two time 2nd place finisher Casey Currie will start in the 56th position to attempt to break the barrier and finally be crowned the King.

The 2009 Griffin King of the Hammers created enough buzz in the offroad racing community to entice some of the top Trophy Truck drivers to come out and test their hand at rock crawling.  Roger Norman, who will be driving with JT Taylor will start in 30th position, BJ Baldwin lines up 44th , Rick D Johnson in 70th and in the back of the pack is 4 Wheel Parts Greg Adler in 86th and the legend Rob MacCachren in 87th with Rock Crawling champion Larry McRae assisting from the passenger seat.  Also taking the green flag are two motorcycle X Games winners Chris Ridgway starting in 21st and Brian Deegan in the 93rd position.

Last year the 2009 Griffin King of the Hammers was featured in 8 International magazines covering 6 countries.  King of the Hammers is honored to again host International Drivers coming from four countries this year.  Ralf Kuller from Germany will start in 12th, Ben Napier from Australia who qualified through BITD Vegas to Reno will line up 23rd, Chris Pook from Canada is in 74th and Naozumi Tsuda coming all the way from Japan will push his way through traffic from the 89th position.

There are only two female drivers of record including Nicole Johnson starting in the 11th position and Kim Sears mid pack in 65th.  There is a new statistic to hit the King of the Hammers record book this year, the youngest driver will start 90th.  18 year old Levi Shirley will have to work his way through the pack of the drivers that have decades of experience including his Dad Brian Shirley starting in 39th.

The 4 Wheel Parts last chance qualifier race will be a strategic race on Tuesday and Wednesday.  Eight of the top 25 starting positions are qualifiers from the LCQ.

Staging for the Griffin King of the Hammers will begin before sunrise at 5am on Friday February 12th.  The engines will idle to their spots where they will line up in pairs and get into position for the green flag where drivers will be released every 30 seconds.  At 7:15am the opening ceremonies will begin and the 2010 Grand Marshall will announce the words we all love to hear in racing: “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines!”   At 8am the gorgeous Griffin Flag Girls will drop the Green Flag for Bronsema and Mooneyham and 135 miles of the toughest desert race to the finish line.

Stay Informed

When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.

4 Wheel Parts Last Chance Qualifier Order and Cour...

OutdoorWire, 4x4Wire, JeepWire, TrailTalk, MUIRNet-News, and 4x4Voice are all trademarks and publications of OutdoorWire, Inc. and MUIRNet Consulting. Copyright (c) 1999-2020 OutdoorWire, Inc and MUIRNet Consulting - All Rights Reserved, no part of this publication may be reproduced in any form without express written permission. You may link freely to this site, but no further use is allowed without the express written permission of the owner of this material. All corporate trademarks are the property of their respective owners.