Written by Press Release on . Posted in Consumer Advisories and Recalls

Consumer Advisory: Unrepaired Vehicles Could Pose Serious Hazard

CONSUMER ADVISORY: Five Million Unrepaired Fords, Lincolns and Mercurys Could Pose Serious Fire Hazard to Vehicles and Dwellings

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is urging owners of certain Ford, Lincoln and Mercury SUVs, pickup trucks, vans, and passenger cars to take their vehicles to a local dealership for a corrective repair.

The vehicles contain a defective cruise control switch that could lead to a fire at any time, even while the vehicle is turned-off, parked and unattended. Repair parts are immediately available.

NHTSA remains concerned that many owners have yet to respond to multiple safety defect recall notifications from Ford. Of the 12 million vehicles involved in the recall, nearly five million have not yet been brought to Ford for repair.

  1. 1993–2004 Ford F150
  2. 1993–1999 Ford F250 (gasoline engine)
  3. 1993–1996 Ford Bronco
  4. 1994–1996 Ford Econoline
  5. 1997–2002 Ford Expedition
  6. 1998–2002 Lincoln Navigator
  7. 1998–2002 Ford Ranger
  8. 1992–1998 Ford Crown Victoria, Mercury Grand Marquis and Lincoln Town Car
  9. 1993–1998 Lincoln Mark VIII
  10. 1993–1995 Ford Taurus SHO with automatic transmission
  11. 1994–Mercury Capri
  12. 1998–2001 Ford Explorer and Mercury Mountaineer
  13. 2001–2002 Ford Explorer Sport and Explorer Sport Trac
  14. 1992–1993 and 1997–2003 Ford E-150-350 gasoline or natural gas vehicles
  15. 2002 Ford E-550 gasoline engine vehicles
  16. 1996–2003 Ford E-450 gasoline or natural gas vehicles
  17. 1994–2002 Ford F-250 through F-550 super Duty trucks (gasoline engine)
  18. 2000–2002 Ford Excursion (gasoline engine)
  19. 2003 F250 – F550 Super Duty, Ford Excursion
  20. 1995–2002 Ford F53 Motor home chassis
  21. 2002–2003 Lincoln Blackwood

Consumers with questions should contact their local Ford/Lincoln/Mercury dealer, or call 888-222-2751. Additional information is available at: www.ford.com

Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration